Hi. My name is Scott and I live in a cabin in the woods in the middle of Alaska. I live here with my wife Kitty who introduced me to the life of living in a cabin in the woods in the middle of Alaska. I am a professional helicopter maintenance technician, or at least I used to be. After nearly 30 years in the industry, I have been retired. That’s okay though. I had been trying to figure out how to leave this business for at least the last 10 years now. Did my retirement happen the way I had envisioned? No it didn’t, but that’s okay too. Sometimes the best things to happen to you are those things that are forced on you. Large, life changing events that force you to work outside your comfort zone and to think and work outside the box.

I’ve been learning for about the last seven years now. I didn’t know it, but I have been learning and preparing for this moment since I made the decision in 2008 to travel to Alaska to work for the summer. Summer came and went and I’m still here in 2015. My first summer here was like a third world country experience for me. The wilds of this state are nothing like the reality shows we see. Even before the snow melted, I was sent to Point Lay, a small native village on the Bering Sea, way up in the tundra. For the first time in my life, I experienced real cold. The first time you work in temperatures of -40 degrees, either makes or breaks you. Me, I guess it made. I wasn’t clothed properly and wasn’t given any real instruction on how to dress for the bush in winter, but I figured it out and adapted. I worked my butt off that first summer. We flew a Bell 407 helicopter roughly 1000 hours in four months. Three pilots and two mechanics moving drill rigs and people doing research in the Arctic. It was a tent camp, my first experience. You just don’t see this kind of life in the lower 48. Alaska life, both work and play, is completely different than anything I could have ever imagined. Well, long story short, here it seven years later and I’m still here. I never left. I’m married to an Alaskan girl and loving life for the first time. I have learned a lot about life and myself during the last seven years. Now, I’m ready for the next step in learning how to really live and enjoy life.

My plan is to document my life’s changes, talk about what I am doing and have done. This is not my story, but the story how I am learning to fit in with life in the real Alaska, not the reality shows we all love to watch. Thank you for reading this and please feel free to stick around and hear about what is now becoming my Alaska.

ScottDSCF0666

Leave a Reply

